13th European Congress of Chemical Engineering and 6th European Congress of Applied Biotechnology

In the kjVI ChemCar competition, model vehicles driven by (bio)chemical reactions enter the race. The goal is to reach a distance, which is only drawn shortly before the start, as accurately as possible. The student teams can score points not only with their innovative ideas, but also with a convincing safety concept and a good presentation in the poster competition. The first three winning teams can look forward to prize money provided by high-ranking companies in the chemical industry.

The race calls for precision, as a distance drawn by lot shortly before the start must be driven as accurately as possible. An additional weight of up to 30% of the vehicle's own weight, which has also been drawn, must be transported. Each team has two attempts, the best of which is scored.

Just as important as the race result are innovative drive and safety concepts and their presentation in the poster competition. A maximum of nine teams will be nominated for the competition by the jury.

Due to the still prevailing Corona situation, the 2021 ChemCar competition will be held digitally and decentral at the respective universities. In the digital competition, all participating teams can look forward to prize money in the same amount. The total amount to be distributed of EUR 3,500 will be provided by high-ranking companies in the chemical industry. The winning team will additionally receive the ChemCar trophy.

The most important data in summary:

  • Digital and decentralized implementation at the participating universities with live video transmission.
  • The poster presentation depends on the innovation of the concept, its implementation and presentation
  • A safety concept with a detailed risk assessment must be prepared for the respective ChemCars
  • During the race, a certain distance must be covered with a defined additional weight


The following teams will compete in the ChemCar Competition:

  • RWTH Aachen University - Team Spring O2‘clock
  • Amirkabir University of Technology (Iran) - Team Amirkabir University of Technology
  • Institut Teknologi Nasional Bandung (Indonesia) - Team Veloxymic
  • TU Dortmund - Team pHantastic Car
  • Universitas Negeri Semarang (Indonesia) - Team Smarttrons
  • Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (Indonesia) - Team Spektronics
  • University of Ulm - Team Spatzenhirn




Organiser and Contact


Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
60486 Frankfurt am Main

Twitter Logo#ecceecab21